. Monocle Issue 30 Volume 03

The 3rd anniversary issue of Monocle Magazine has been quite difficult for me to find. I swear I’ve gone to my local book stores for a month to see if they would get it in. And finally today one of them did.

It’s so odd because I go into a store that consistently has MONOCLE but then they don’t have the newest issue. They keep three old issues there, and unless someone buys them, they don’t bother to replace it. The other book store I go to hardly ever has MONOCLE, but every once in a while they’ll appear and then suddenly vanish. That’s why I try to stay consistent in my search.

The sales people are pretty funny as well. They don’t seem to be the types who would ever care to read MONOCLE. I was at an airport magazine store and the woman was really curious as to why MONOCLE is so popular. She said people really like it. I just told her it has a lot of information about a lot of different things. That is why I love MONOCLE. Great reportage, great photography, little snidbits about things going on in the world that you didn’t know about. Very much like The Economist but not so uptight and serious, more about lifestyle topics, but with some political and global dynamics. Today the sales woman couldn’t figure out how much to charge me. She was confused at all of the international currencies on the front cover.

.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

